top of page

Books

Coming Soon! (June 2023)
from Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan

Preorder Now for Signed Editions! 

The Gray is a sensitively told middle grade story from Chris Baron about living with anxiety and finding ways to cope.

It’s been a tough year for Sasha—he’s been bullied at his middle school and his anxiety, which he calls the Gray, is growing. Sasha’s dad tells him to “toughen up”—and he does, but with unfortunate, hurtful results. His parents and therapist agree that a summer in the country with his aunt might be the best medicine, but it’s the last place he wants to be. He'll be away from his best friend, video games, and stuck in the house that reminds him of his beloved uncle who died two years earlier.

His aunt is supportive, and there are lots of places to explore, and even some potential new friends. When Sasha is introduced at a local ranch to a horse coincidentally--incredibly--nicknamed the Gray, he feels he's found a kindred spirit.

But his own Gray is ever-present. When one of his new friends disappears, Sasha discovers that the country is wilder and more mysterious than he imagined. He tries to muster enough courage to help in the search . . . but will the Gray hold him back?

 

MagicalImperfect_CVR.jpg

The Magical Imperfect a Middle Grade Novel in verse  from Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan.

A Sydney Taylor Book Award Notable Book
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2021
A New York Public Library Best Book of 2021
A Junior Library Guild Selection

A Junior Library Guild Selection

"Highly recommended...satisfyingly blends empathy, a range of diversity, and youthful possibility with serendipity’s sparkle. Perfect for readers of Wonder and Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe." ―
Booklist magazine, starred review

Etan’s honest and lovable voice, and its growing strength, that carries this tender novel." ― Publishers Weekly

 

Available Now!

from Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan

AllOfMe final.jpg

ALL OF ME is the story of Ari, an overweight boy who loves cryptozoology and role-playing games. He has body-image issues, and he is tired of letting his weight define him. After a move across the country, his parents work selling and promoting his mother's paintings and sculptures. Ari's artist mother needs space to create, and his father is gone for long stretches of time on "sales" trips. Somehow Ari is supposed to prepare for his already late bar mitzvah! Meanwhile, Ari makes new friends: Pick, the gamer, the artsy Jorge, and the troubled Lisa. He is also relentlessly bullied because he's overweight, but he can't tell his parents—they're simply not around enough to listen. After an upsetting incident, Ari's mom suggests he go on a diet, and she gives him a book to help. But the book—and the diet—can’t fix everything. As Ari faces the demise of his parents' marriage, he also feels himself changing, both emotionally and physically. Here is a much-needed story about accepting the imperfect in oneself and in life.

ALL OF ME Trailer

Critical Acclaim for ALL OF ME

NCTE 2020 Notable Verse Novel

A Southern California Independent Booksellers Association BESTSELLER!

A Bank Street College Best Book of the Year

 

Nerdy Book Club 2019 Award, Novels-in-Verse

"If you have ever felt lost in the world, betrayed by your body or buoyed by a glimmer of hope or the glow of friendship, then All of Me could be your story, too."

- The Los Angeles Times

"All of Me is for anyone who has been in search of a tribe, in love with a friend or in need of answers to questions that they can’t bring themselves to ask. In other words, everybody."
-- San Diego Union Tribune

"[A] beautifully written and psychologically acute debut. Readers will be glad to accompany Ari on his journey to self-discovery." 

 -- Booklist magazine

"Any reader who has felt like an outsider will be drawn to Ari’s story, which means his audience should be legion."

- The Horn Book Magazine

"Astute and stun­ning. All of Me is high­ly rec­om­mend­ed and offers an elo­quent and often-heart­break­ing glimpse into the expe­ri­ences of a lay­ered, com­plex and relat­able pro­tag­o­nist. Read­ers will sure­ly root for Ari as his sto­ry unfolds."

-- Jewish Book Council

"Baron’s free-verse poetry is immediate and lyrical, allowing us access to Ari’s thoughts and feelings in a way that prose would not. Baron’s first-person narration allows the reader to experience Ari’s pain and revelations, both of which are balanced with moments of grace and beauty....highly recommended for readers of all ages."

-- Bookpage

"Tackling such difficult subjects as anti-Semitism, self-harm, and family instability with heart-breaking honesty and grace, All of Me deftly explores the complex layers of what it means to come of age. Baron’s evocative verse beautifully expresses the depth of Ari’s feelings; he will be a lifeline to anyone unsure of how they fit in the world."

--Joy McCullough, National Book Award nominated author of Blood Water Paint

"In page after page of gorgeous verse, Chris Baron tells a story of hard-won healing, self acceptance, and hope."

-- Jarrett Lerner, author of EngiNerds and the Geeger the Robot series

"I LOVE THIS BOOK. A moving and raw story that will stay with me."

-- Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky

“Chris Baron’s gorgeous debut shines with strength, vulnerability, and humor. Ari’s journey to self-acceptance is hopeful and inspiring.”

--Jen Petro-Roy, author of Good Enough:A Novel

"Ari's story of love and loss and learning to live life on his own terms broke my heart and put it back together again. Beautiful and necessary!" 

- Kelly deVos, author of Fat Girl on a Plane

"A powerful story, beautifully told. Highly recommended."--Middle Grade Minded Blog

 

MACKIDSSL.jpg

Lantern Tree: Four Books of Poems including the poetry book: Under the Broom Tree

 

CityWorks Press, 2012

 

San Diego Book Award Winner for Best Poetry Anthology

 

bottom of page